Quickly checking if a problem is a PowerShell problem or a module/snapin/proxy-function problem.

We all tend to customize our PowerShell environment via our Profile.ps1 script.  Whether we load up snapins, modules, our own functions, etc.  And with PowerShell 2.0, you can even “proxy” cmdlets such that you get to intercept calls to cmdlets like Get-Help and add parameters and augment its functionality. Sometimes though this can cause problems.  And it isn’t always easy to determine if the problem is with PowerShell or one of these add-ins.  When I run into these situations I fire up a PowerShell with no profile to help determine where the problem actually lies.  This is what I execute:

C:\PS> PowerShell –noprofile

Often I prefer to have PowerShell fire up in a different window so I use Start-Process.  And because I do this so often (testing PSCX), I’ve created a function that I put in my profile to provide a convenient shortcut to fire up PowerShell with no profile:

function psnp { Start-Process PowerShell.exe -Arg -noprofile }

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

